The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By fyshstykr
  • 1 Post By imxer

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2012, 02:45 PM

marty mcfly is on a distinguished road
Default 7wt GLX native run or 8wt NRX?

I have been shopping around for a good steelhead rod for a few months. I am looking for a rod that will be used primarily for steelehead in the Lake Erie tributaries. These are medium sized waters with fish averaging 5-8lbs but which also sometimes produce fish of 10-12lbs. I may also want to use the rod for some light salmon fishing if I get the chance, and light saltwater use (bonefish, permit, redfish).

I have the chance to buy one of the two following rods:
1. G.Loomis GLX Native Run 9'6" 7wt 4 piece.
2. G.Loomis NRX 9' 8wt. 4 piece.

The price difference between the two is significant but not really important to me. The way I feel about it, in 5 years I am not going to miss the extra $200 that might be spent or saved but I will still have the rod.

Given the intended use, I would appreciate opinions from others who have done this kind of fishing. Which should I buy? Also, does anyone know how the Native Run weathers saltwater?
Old 01-25-2012, 02:48 PM

gt05254 has a brilliant futuregt05254 has a brilliant futuregt05254 has a brilliant futuregt05254 has a brilliant futuregt05254 has a brilliant futuregt05254 has a brilliant futuregt05254 has a brilliant futuregt05254 has a brilliant futuregt05254 has a brilliant futuregt05254 has a brilliant futuregt05254 has a brilliant future
Default Re: 7wt GLX native run or 8wt NRX?

Well, I own the 7wt in question and love it. But if I only had one rod for the broad spectrum of situations you're talking about, I'd go with the 8wt. Except I couldn't handle fishing with a rod with the colors of the NRX, LOL!
Gary
Old 01-25-2012, 03:09 PM