The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2012, 07:46 AM

mtowner23 is on a distinguished road
Default How to choose my first rod

So it won't really be my "first" rod, but rather the first one that I'm going to pay more than $25 at a yard sale for.

I'm very new to fly fishing and have only held a fly rod a few times, but this year my father and I have decided we're going to jump in and put our spinning rods away for a while.

As a beginner, what should I look for in a rod? I've heard people state that a 8-9ft 5wt mid flex is the best beginner rod. I've looked through the FAQs here and noted that a 5wt would definitely cover 80% of the fish that I'd be going after, but what about the action rating?

Based on my fishing experience with spinning rods, I'm a firm believer that whatever you start on, you get good at using because you have to (or you give up). I've fished with an old light weight moderate action spinning rod for years, caught lots of fish and can use it well, but I picked up a fast action rod at the end of last year and it's 20x easier to set the hook and bring in the fish.