The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2007, 07:30 PM

Buonarroti is on a distinguished road
Default Rod advice for Hardy Angel 4/5 owner

Hello,
I'm a newbie and inherited a Hardy Angel 4/5 from my family. I look forward to some trout fishing up here in the Northeast and hope I can get some advice on a good match (size, weight, manufacturer, etc.) for this reel. Also, if anyone is using a Angel 4/5 I would be interested in what rod you use and how you like it.

Thanking all in advance.....
Old 09-23-2007, 08:29 AM

troutbum is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Rod advice for Hardy Angel 4/5 owner

Welcome to the site,lot's of great folks on here with lot's of great advise.
Your reel is designed for a 4 or 5 weight line,so a 4 or five weight rod is in order. What type of water you intend to fish?ie,small streams,lakes,large river's,ponds,a little of all?
If you are a beginner,I would recomend a 5 wt. rod,in the 8.5-9' range.It's a great all around size for most fishing applications,and friendly for learning a decent casting stroke.
There are many great rod company's out there,and what to recomend greatly depends on your budget.Steer clear of the Wal-mart stuff ie,dragon fly,ect..
Scott puts out great rod's at a fair price as does Fenwick as well as many other's.
You have a quality reel there,and should match up well with any half decent rod you choose to put it on.
Tight Lines
Aaron
Old 09-23-2007, 10:09 AM

Silver Doc is on a distinguished road