The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Fly Rods (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-rods/)
-   -   Rod Advice - Redington/TFO/Sage (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-rods/2706-rod-advice-redington-tfo-sage.html)

NewFlyFisher 11-11-2007 09:14 PM

Rod Advice - Redington/TFO/Sage

I have just joined this forum, having looked on for the past few days. I am a relative novice to fly fishing but hoping to get more into it over the next year. I presently have a "real beginner - but graphite" 7/8 fly rod and am looking for something more appropriate for trout in the smaller rivers and streams here in Alberta.

I am not looking to spend a lot, but enough to get into reasonable performing hardware. It appears that the best bang for the buck is in the combo offerings. I started looking at the TFO professional rod, have considered going as high as the Sage Launch and am now having a close look at the great deal of the Redington RS3 conbo that Cabela's has on at the moment. I got to see this rod locally and looks quite good.

If someone could give me comments on the Redington RS3 and how it might compare to the TFO Professional or Sage Launch product would be great.

Thanks.
Larry.

jimw 11-12-2007 07:34 AM

Re: Rod Advice - Redington/TFO/Sage

Hi Larry

I have 2 Redington Redfly2 rods an 8wt and a 9wt a little big for your needs but i really like them i have the cabelas csr reels a number3 on the 8wt and a #4 on the 9wt and they work great, the rods are forgiving and easy to cast. i fish mostly salt and have not had any issues with corrosion the reels have a sealed drag and it is very smooth. In my opinion these are very nice rods and reels for the money. Sage and TFO are both good products too but i don't own one and can't really comment on them.
Jim

ReelFlyRod 11-12-2007 12:12 PM