The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2007, 11:42 PM

badog65 is on a distinguished road
Default cabelas rods

I am new to fly fishing and thinking of getting an Lst or stowaway7 5 wt fly rod from cabelas. Their combos seem to be a good value. Any one use either of these rods before??? Any pros or cons woulde be appreciated.!!!!!
I live in central California between the stanislaus and tuolume rivers, I love to stream and river fish, and this last year started using wooly buggers with my spin fishing outfit. Also did a guided trip on the green river ths summer. So it looks like it time to take the jump to fly fishing. Thanks for all the help and opinions!!
Dave
Old 11-22-2007, 10:17 AM

tie one on will become famous soon enoughtie one on will become famous soon enough
Default Re: cabelas rods

I have been flyfishing for more than 40 years & my usual
advice to newcomers (not everyone may agree with this)
is to purchase a lower cost outfit, like from Cabelas & try
fly fishing before you go out & spend a lot of $$. Cabelas
has some very nice lower end rod/reel/line, etc. combos
that are great to learn the ropes of flyfishing. If you really
get the bug, then you may want to move up the $$ ladder
to better outfits. I myself own a Cabelas Stowaway 3wt
8'-6" travel rod that I specifically use for bluegill. All the rest
of my rods are further up the ladder & all carry lifetime
warranties, which to me is worth the extra few bucks.

Welcome to the "Quiet Sport" of Flyfishing, it's the best,

Tie One On
Old 11-23-2007, 12:01 PM

jan is on a distinguished road