The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-21-2012, 11:28 PM

bdavies is on a distinguished road
Default Beginner Rod Combo?- TFO NXT, St Croix Rio Santo, or Redington Pursuit

Hi all,

Occasional browser, first time poster here. I am looking to get into fly fishing and have been doing some research both online and in some of the local fishing stores around.

I am a beginner to fly fishing and for the area I live in and type of fish I'd be targeting many people have recommended a 9ft 5 or 6w moderate rod for ease of cast.

Three kit options I've looked at are the TFO NXT, St Croix Rio Santo, and Redington Pursuit (all 4 pc rods) which come with rod, reel, line, backing, case.

The price of these three is relatively comparible I am looking to see if anyone has any experience or input on these 3 options for a beginner to fly fishing?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Old 05-22-2012, 07:16 AM

brookfieldangler is a splendid one to beholdbrookfieldangler is a splendid one to beholdbrookfieldangler is a splendid one to beholdbrookfieldangler is a splendid one to beholdbrookfieldangler is a splendid one to beholdbrookfieldangler is a splendid one to beholdbrookfieldangler is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Beginner Rod Combo?- TFO NXT, St Croix Rio Santo, or Redington Pursuit

I recently put up a review on here of the Rio Santo

I haven't cast the others, but I can say the Rio Santo will serve you very well!

St. Croix Rio Santo Fly Fishing Outfit
Old 05-22-2012, 08:14 AM