The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2012, 10:26 PM

Mnflyfish is just really niceMnflyfish is just really niceMnflyfish is just really niceMnflyfish is just really nice
Default Headin' to Cabelas!

My wonderful wife is taking me to cabelas this weekend for my birthday/fathers day, so i can get a new Rod and reel. I have been shopping and comparing and asking questions for a couple months regarding rods, and i know i have a thread already started but wasn't able to find it so i will start another.
Im looking for a good all around trout rod. One i can throw dries and nymphs and the occasional bugger or muddler. i fish mainly small freestone creeks and small rivers. I would like to set my budget for the rod at $150- $200. Should i be concerned with the rod action as it pertains to what im throwing ie: slow action better suited for dry fly presentations, and faster action for nymphing/streamer?

A member was nice enough to point out Cabelas has the TFO pro 1 on sale for $75 in stores, and the website has the TQR on sale for about the same. Im tempted to buy one of each, maybe a 7' 3wt TQR and a 8'6" 4wt TFO Pro 1.
2 for the price of one kind of thing?
Anyways...lookin for some input, good or bad, or whatever....lets hear it.
Thanks guys!! and gals too of course!
Old 06-06-2012, 10:39 PM

mdk223 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Headin' to Cabelas!

Happy B-day! I too celebrate my b-day by going to Cabelas... The wife is much more lenient around that date... Have fun!
Old 06-07-2012, 05:55 AM

okuma is a glorious beacon of lightokuma is a glorious beacon of lightokuma is a glorious beacon of lightokuma is a glorious beacon of lightokuma is a glorious beacon of light
Send a message via Yahoo to okuma