The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2008, 09:27 AM

conceptmachine is on a distinguished road
Default suggestions on a Rod

Hello there! Good to be a part of the community!

I've been an fishing since I was 7, in the ponds and lakes of Iowa. My gear mainly consists of Bass and panfish items.

I am looking to buy my first fly rod. I live in Iowa and plan on using it to fish for bluegill and bass in ponds or coves of smaller lakes. I would like to do topwater fishing. I am new to flyfishing and don't know the exact terminology. I know that 865 on the rod would mean 8'6" 5 weight rod, but I don't know much after that. Does that mean I should select 5w line? What is the terminology for line? I would like line that keeps the fly on top, or just below the surface, so really, non sinkable line. How is that noted on fishing line? I would like the stren of fly fishing line, which is very durable and dependable. Does stren make a fly line? Does it come in certain lbs/test?

What would be the best rod in the the $200. range fishing for those (bass and bluegill species? I would shoot for heavier bluegill gear, and if I catch bass on it, thats fine, I will just play them longer.

At a garage sale I picked up a Martin 67N reel. I think it needs fixed somehow, because the drag, or at least thats what I think it is, isn't working. Reels are fairly priced, so I would be willing to spend a 100 to 150 on a nice one.

Could someone be so kind as to point me in the right direction?
My tastes for gear if it can be attributed in some way are as follows:

Baitcasters, all left hand retrieve: Shimano Carado x5 model years 93-2003
Fenwick rods IM6-IM8 Spinning and Baitcasting
Spinning: Garcia
Stren line

Please ask me any questions in that I can get the most value gear for the job.

Thanks again

Jimbo