The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Fly Rods (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-rods/)
-   -   TFO TiCr X 5wt (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-rods/296655-tfo-ticr-x-5wt.html)

vyse 09-13-2012 08:59 PM

TFO TiCr X 5wt

First of all, I am very new to fly fishing, and I am still trying to learn about line weights and rod actions. I purchased a 9' TFO TiCr X 5wt rod last year, and I have been fishing with it a few times. I have a RIO 5wt Windcutter II line on the reel. I have read that this is a very stiff action rod. I am having difficulty casting the line, whether it be a 5', 7', 9', or 12' leader. I know my form is not perfect, however, after taking instruction at my local shop and working with the casting guru there, I still cannot seem to get a clean cast. I am not ready to buy a different rod. I would like to learn to cast this one. my question is this: would a different or perhaps heavier line help in getting the rod to flex and cast better? I have read about over and under lining rods, but I would like some opinions on what might work.
I fish still water and smaller creeks mostly, and occasionally go out to the South Platte near Denver.
Any suggestions on lines that might make a difference?

Thanks in advance!

MoscaPescador 09-14-2012 01:41 AM

Re: TFO TiCr X 5wt

Do this.

Go to your fly shop and ask if you could cast your rod with one of their demo reels lined with a 6 weight line. If you can't feel the load, try another demo reel with a 7 weight line. If you still can't feel the load, you have mechanics issues.

I think it is a combination of having too fast of a rod and your mechanics.

Dennis

swirlchaser 09-14-2012 08:48 AM

I think Dennis gave you sound advise. The TiCr and X series is a stiff rod. It's a rocket launcher when you hit the sweet spot but it's not very forgiving to a new caster. They also like to be lined up one.