The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2012, 07:30 AM

vango is on a distinguished road
Default 6 wt for smallmouth and western rivers

I am pretty new at this and getting set up for next season. I have a medium fast rods..3wt Echo carbon, 4wt ZXL, 5 wt Echo carbon, and 8wt Z-Axis. I am fishing the Driftless area, and the Western states..Colorado, Idaho, and bigger rivers in Washington Cascade area next year. My friend out west uses a 6wt. I am wondering what 6wt you all would recommend. I like a good feel and presentation. I have thought about a ZXL 6 wt. I do not know if the Z-axis 8 wt is overkill or not. thanks
Old 10-22-2012, 08:32 AM

williamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: 6 wt for smallmouth and western rivers

Unless your heart is set on getting a 6wt, your 5wt should be just fine. Between an 8wt and 5wt you're covered for bass and trout. However, I understand the desire to get more rods!
Old 10-25-2012, 10:58 AM

db cooper has a spectacular aura aboutdb cooper has a spectacular aura about

I agree. My current primary trout and smallmouth rod is a 5wt. If im throwing really big stuff the 7 gets the nod. You have no NEED to get a 6...want is another thing

Last edited by db cooper; 11-26-2012 at 11:20 AM.
Old 10-28-2012, 10:28 PM