The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2012, 09:46 AM

jpwv12 is on a distinguished road
Default Rod Advice for beginner...Scott A3 or Winston IM6

Guys,

I am new to fly fishing and recently purchased a Scott A3 and a Galvan Spoke, both at good prices. I have been reading up on various fly fishing topics and came across the Winston IM6. I will be fishing in small streams in the Western NC mountains. My question is, should I return the Scott A3 and get a Winston IM6? It sounds like the IM6 is a great rod and probably more fitted to what I would need in my area. Maybe I should just stick with what I have and see how my skill set develops until I go buying something different.
Old 11-19-2012, 10:41 AM
Super Moderator

jpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Rod Advice for beginner...Scott A3 or Winston IM6

Try the Winston...and see if you like it better than the Scott
Old 11-19-2012, 11:37 AM

I understand the advice but since I am a beginner I am not sure I know what I like at this point. Only time will tell which is why I mentioned one option of just sticking with what I have until I develop feel and skill in casting.
Old 11-19-2012, 11:58 AM
Super Moderator