The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2013, 11:02 AM

brodie is on a distinguished road
Default Few questions about some inherited rods

I'm new to the forum (first post) and fairly new to fly fishing.
Im in south Louisiana so most of my fishing is warm water (bass and bream)

I have a few questions about a few rods i inherited after a relative passed away...

One is a 9' SAGE Graphite II (5 wt, 4 piece). Looks and feels like a good rod, but i have limited experience in fly rods (been mostly a spin and bait caster). How does this rod hold up compared to newer SAGE models..how much has technology improved since? Also wondering its value given it is in excellent condition?

I cannot find any info on the two other rods i have. both have the name "Technical Research Company" inscribed on them and seem to be very fine quality rods (as good or better than the sage) and one looks like its never even seen a reel. One is a 4 pc 8 wt, the other a 2 pc 5 wt. Anyone have a clue or know anything about this company? Could they be handmade...how would i go about finding the value of them since i would like to offer some money to the widow even though she gave them to me...??

Thanks in advance,
Old 01-16-2013, 11:12 AM
Administrator

mcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Few questions about some inherited rods