The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

Like Tree5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2013, 06:09 PM

kevingraves35 is on a distinguished road
Default New to fly fishing, buying rods

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to fly fishing. I'm currently fishing with a 8'6" 5 weight from Dick's sporting goods (a Cortland Rod) I believe. It's caught it's fair share of fish but I'm ready to buy a new rod. I'm looking to keep it under $300 as I'm expecting a child soon.

Here's my problem. I'm not sure of the size or action that would best suite my needs. I fish primarily small rivers and streams (50ft cast being far plenty). I fish about 80% sub-surface. I fish size 12 bead heads, to tandem rigs, down to size 32 on 6x and 7x fluorocarbon.

I've been looking at the TFO BVK 3 weight due to its reviews but I'm not sure that is what would work for me. The Fly Fishing Show will be around town this coming weekend and I'd like to cast as many rods as I can to see which feels the best.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Old 01-17-2013, 06:50 PM

caberguy will become famous soon enoughcaberguy will become famous soon enough
Default Re: New to fly fishing, buying rods

A 3wt would work well for those little guys, but if you're tossing double nymph rigs and those #12 beadheads (streamers or nymphs?) you're going to be really pushing the limits of a 3wt. You'd probably be better off with at least a 4wt, or to cover that range of applications you might be better off with 2 rods.
shotgunfly likes this.
Old 01-17-2013, 07:42 PM

shotgunfly is a name known to allshotgunfly is a name known to allshotgunfly is a name known to allshotgunfly is a name known to allshotgunfly is a name known to allshotgunfly is a name known to all

I'm probably the last person who should respond since I'm buying all kinds of different weights and lengths.