The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Fly Rods (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-rods/)
-   -   Sage Response With Litespeed Reel (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-rods/311217-sage-response-litespeed-reel.html)

jbman 02-18-2013 05:18 PM

Sage Response With Litespeed Reel

Hello all,

I know the Response is new but was wondering if I could get any comments on it. I'm looking for a reasonably priced 9' 5wt to go with my Litespeed 2 for trout fishing. The Response feels like it might be little heavy for the reel, but I'm new at this! Thanks!

fredaevans 02-18-2013 06:27 PM

Re: Sage Response With Litespeed Reel

What does the reel weigh, and then you have to do a "SWAG" as to what the backing and line will add to that.

stuie675 02-18-2013 06:49 PM

I believe they are around 3 1/2 oz or something close to that. Really not to crazy heavy, I have never used that rod, but for me the only way to find out if I am going like a setup is to try it. I will either go to my local fly shop, or I will buy the rod/reel and return it if I do not like it lol

fredaevans 02-18-2013 07:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stuie675 (Post 528237)
I believe they are around 3 1/2 oz or something close to that. Really not to crazy heavy, I have never used that rod, but for me the only way to find out if I am going like a setup is to try it. I will either go to my local fly shop, or I will buy the rod/reel and return it if I do not like it lol

Here's my 'SWAG,' you're probably pretty dead on with the 3.5 so add about .25-.33 to that for some shooting line backing and backing. The why of the .25 oz is the rest of the line will be out the tip-top and not a factor in rod balance as you cast/fish.

Just my .02 cents only, but with trout rods I'd like my reel/backing to be about 1.5 oz heavier than the rod weight. And yes, there is a good reason for that. ;)