The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

Like Tree11Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2013, 06:01 PM

caberguy will become famous soon enoughcaberguy will become famous soon enough
Default Rod Weight and Price/Performance

The long and short of this question is, all things being equal, would you pay more for a light weight rod or a heavier rod?

I'm still pretty new to this, but I find myself more willing to pony up for a light weight rod than a heavier one. Admittedly I don't fish salt, and to be perfectly honest I paid more for my 8wt than any of my other rods (still only around $160), but I feel like I'd be willing to spend more for a higher end small rod than a big rod.

My rationale is that with a smaller rod I'm going more for accuracy and presentation, so I think of it more as a precision instrument. Bigger rod for steelhead and salmon I'm thinking more like chuck and duck, swinging streamers and eggs, not too worried about presentation and accuracy. Thoughts.
Old 03-12-2013, 06:05 PM

streamwalker has a spectacular aura aboutstreamwalker has a spectacular aura about
Default Rod Weight and Price/Performance

Well me personally would live to have a high end 2wt rod over any other rod wt out there..but mainly that's because I can fish it anywhere and have fun catching just about any size fish. That will most likely be my next rod
Old 03-12-2013, 06:20 PM

moucheur2003 is a jewel in the roughmoucheur2003 is a jewel in the roughmoucheur2003 is a jewel in the roughmoucheur2003 is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: Rod Weight and Price/Performance

I don't notice the difference so much with rods for lighter lines. When you're casting longer distances all day with rods designed to hurl heavier lines and play heavier fish, though, a significantly lighter rod is much easier on your arm and wrist.
Old 03-12-2013, 06:39 PM