The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2008, 05:34 PM

misterchengmoua is on a distinguished road
Default need help building flyrod

hey everyone! im new to the sport of fly fishing and i am thinking about building a fly rod. is there such a thing as an "all around fly rod"? what i mean by this is, i want to fish mainly for bass, pike and maybe carp. i also want to fish for trout and panfish-on occasion only.
i was thinking about getting an 8wt TFO TiCR. fit it with recoil snake guides and rec reel seat components.
any thoughts?
Old 01-28-2008, 06:20 PM

dorian.ducker is just really nicedorian.ducker is just really nicedorian.ducker is just really nicedorian.ducker is just really nicedorian.ducker is just really nice
Default Re: need help building flyrod

Welcome Mister....I am new to the sport as well! From what I understand you are really looking at needing two different rods. A Trout rod will typically be a 5 wt, although anything from a 3 to a 6 is pretty generally accepted depending on the situation. I would say an 8 wt. is overkill big time. I am sure other people with more knowledge about the other fish you want to fish for will post and help you out. Good luck with your rod purchase!!!
Old 01-28-2008, 06:38 PM
Administrator

Frank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Skype™ to Frank Whiton

Hi cheng,