The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2013, 02:40 AM

usmcpowerman1 is on a distinguished road
Default Orvis Clearwater?

So im looking at gettting a Orvis Clearwater as my first fly rod. Went to the local shop today and tried a few and it felt the best of the ones i tried. It was a 9' 4 wt. I'm mainly going to use this on some medium sized trout streams around my area and maybe pond fish for some perch or small bass. Any other recomendations? Local shop would throw in line, backing, tippet etc. for free if i bought the rod and the reel from them. Any help would be appreciated as i am totally new at this.
Old 04-26-2013, 04:13 AM

fly_guy12955 is a splendid one to beholdfly_guy12955 is a splendid one to beholdfly_guy12955 is a splendid one to beholdfly_guy12955 is a splendid one to beholdfly_guy12955 is a splendid one to beholdfly_guy12955 is a splendid one to beholdfly_guy12955 is a splendid one to beholdfly_guy12955 is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Orvis Clearwater?

The Clearwater is a fine rod, but I wouldn't buy it as an outfit. I'd go with another reel than the Clearwater reel. 9', 4wt outta be just the ticket for what you are fishing for.
Old 04-26-2013, 05:15 AM

sandfly is a splendid one to beholdsandfly is a splendid one to beholdsandfly is a splendid one to beholdsandfly is a splendid one to beholdsandfly is a splendid one to beholdsandfly is a splendid one to beholdsandfly is a splendid one to beholdsandfly is a splendid one to behold

Nothing wrong with the clearwater reels for what you intend on doing. get the combo it's worth it.
baseman1 likes this.
N.J.B.B.A. #2215

I did not escape.....they gave me a day pass!
from the outer edge of nowhere
fly tying and fishing Gillie..
Old 04-26-2013, 05:27 AM