The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

Like Tree12Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-29-2013, 05:01 PM

mdlb21 is on a distinguished road
Default Clearwater and Sage One 4wt

I think I already know the answer I am going to get, but given I am relatively new to the sport I thought I would ask anyway: I have thrown about every rod I can get my hands on in a 4wt. I have found after casting 20+ rods the two that fit my casting style the best are the Orvis Clearwater and Sage One. The One felt slightly lighter in swing weight, but the distance and accuracy in my casts were pretty close between the two rods. Is there any reason (customer service, fit and finish, longevity of materials, bling factor) that should sway my choice to the Sage?
Old 05-29-2013, 05:11 PM

dean_mt has a brilliant futuredean_mt has a brilliant futuredean_mt has a brilliant futuredean_mt has a brilliant futuredean_mt has a brilliant futuredean_mt has a brilliant futuredean_mt has a brilliant futuredean_mt has a brilliant futuredean_mt has a brilliant futuredean_mt has a brilliant futuredean_mt has a brilliant future
Default Re: Clearwater and Sage One 4wt

For the $$ difference between the two, No. I don't know the details of both companies warranties, but I imagine they are quite similar in that you get a replacement section if it breaks but for a S&H fee.

Since you are new to fly casting, it kind of makes sense that you don't notice much difference in accuracy and distance as you are still learning to really cast. At some point you will be able to feel the difference between rods like this. But price does not always equate better. Casting is personal and subjective. If you like the Clearwater as well as the One...heck, you could save a FIVE HUNDRED bucks and get a nice reel and top end line and still be ahead. Or a second rod for that matter.