The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2013, 12:39 PM

quckslayer13 is on a distinguished road
Default New to fly fishing

So, I'm new to fly fishing I have an old browning rod and south bend reel from the 80's. I've used it a little bit but its just not working for me. Amy suggestions on a good, solid, not over priced setup to start with?
Old 06-21-2013, 12:42 PM

williamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New to fly fishing

First of all welcome! What is your budget? What do you fish for? Do you know what rod weight you want? Knowing that will help people steer you in the right direction.
Old 06-21-2013, 12:46 PM

Budget really isn't a big deal but I don't want to spend more them $200 or $150 if I can help it. I will be fishing for bass and trout mostly. And I don't know what kind if weight I would need.
Old 06-21-2013, 12:51 PM

enolaeagle is a glorious beacon of lightenolaeagle is a glorious beacon of lightenolaeagle is a glorious beacon of lightenolaeagle is a glorious beacon of lightenolaeagle is a glorious beacon of light

Is it the feel of the rod or frustrations with learning how to cast? What weight is your current rig?

Chief Thread Starter
Mother Approved...
Old 06-21-2013, 12:54 PM

I know how to cast. I'm not too bad if I may say so myself. I'm just looking for something more updated and new. The rod says 3.3 oz.
Old 06-21-2013, 12:57 PM