The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2013, 04:48 PM

jho20002000 is on a distinguished road
Default redington rod help, ?

Hi, 1st off i would like to introduce myself... my name is Johnny and im new to fly fishing, never fly fished before but very interested in doing so, im looking at a Redington Red-Fly Rod, its a CTRF2-9064....its a 9ft rod 6wt, i want to use it to fly fish on the truckee river in Nevada and local Rivers in Ca. its selling for $105.00 shipped and retail before tax is $180.00

This will be my 1st fly rod and want to know if its a good one for the money!

Any input would be helpful and thx. in advance!!!
Old 06-22-2013, 05:07 PM

moucheur2003 is a jewel in the roughmoucheur2003 is a jewel in the roughmoucheur2003 is a jewel in the roughmoucheur2003 is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: redington rod help, ?

Welcome to the forum, and to the sport! If you are fishing for trout in the Truckee, a 9 foot, 5 or 6 weight rod is about the right size. Since you're just starting out, look a rod with a medium or medium-fast action -- it will be easier to get the hang of casting than a very fast (i. e., stiff) rod. I don't have any experience with the Red-fly, and it is a discontinued model, but I think it was designed as a beginner's rod, and if so, it should serve you well. Usually you can google the model and size of a rod you're interested in and find something somewhere on the internet to tell you what kind of action it has.
Old 06-22-2013, 07:26 PM

it says fast action, im not even sure what fast, med, med-fast even means....should i not get a fast action rod? does that mean its harder to cast? thx for your help !
Old 06-23-2013, 10:53 AM