The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-06-2008, 09:02 AM

Schlick is on a distinguished road
Default Moderate/Fast Rod - But what line?

Hi Guys

I've ordered a St. Croix Reign rod - 9ft, 5wt, 2 piece. I'm new to the wonderful world lf fly fishing so could use your expert advise. I've been told the most important things are your rod and your line.... I chose the Reign, as it fit my budget and comes with a Lifetime Warranty.

Now for the line. What 5 weight would you recommend for a beginner hoping to entice a few trout and bass once the rivers open.

Am I right in assuming that any reel will really do for now (as a beginner). I'm looking for inexpensive - Love the look of the trion, but not comfortable with the price. I'll probably check out the Ross FlyCast, or the Okuma SLV series.

Let me know your thoughts.

Thanks.

Jon.
Old 02-06-2008, 11:24 PM

dorian.ducker is just really nicedorian.ducker is just really nicedorian.ducker is just really nicedorian.ducker is just really nicedorian.ducker is just really nice
Default Re: Moderate/Fast Rod - But what line?

I also almost bought a Ross Flycast. Absolutely nothing wrong with that reel for a beginner. I ended up with a Albright Bugati reel and got in the mail the other day. Fit my budget, looks good, has a great drag, large arbor, reputable smaller company.....I really like it.

Oh...about the fly line...I just picked up a SA Mastery series GPX trout line for 35 bucks at my local fly shop. They said SA is updating the series of lines and they wanted to get rid of these to make room for the new ones. I have heard a lot of good things about this particular fly line and decided to pick it up for 35 bucks. WF F 5wt.

Maybe if you ask around you could find a similar deal on these lines.

Good luck.
Old 02-07-2008, 05:20 PM