The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

Like Tree4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2013, 09:33 AM

bigtroutfishr is on a distinguished road
Default Need a new rod

hello all, i am pretty new to fly fishing and i am in need of a new rod. i bought a kit at dicks to start with, big mistake. i am looking for a medium action 4wt, preferably 7-8ft. i fish limestone and spring creeks in pa, so casting is usually under 30 ft. i mostly fish dry droppers (nymph on bottom, dry on top) and straight line nymphing. i would like to keep the rod price around $150. lets here those suggestions, thanks!
Old 08-20-2013, 09:54 AM

jaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Need a new rod

Hi,

Welcome to the forum. I don't have the rod I'm going to recommend but many people who fish them on the forum swear by them. Look for a Redington CT, you will have to search for them on the net but they're on closeout. Selection may be limited at this point but they're there. The newer model of the CT is the Tempt which is just a little over your budget. I'm basing this on past recommendations from members and the criteria that you're looking for. Medium action, spring creeks and under 30' fishing.
Old 08-20-2013, 09:58 AM

noreaster is just really nicenoreaster is just really nicenoreaster is just really nicenoreaster is just really nicenoreaster is just really nice