The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2013, 07:15 PM

lilredflyguy will become famous soon enough
Default Scott G 885/3 reel & line recs please......

Just acquired a mid 90's Scott G series 885/3 and as I'm relatively new to FF in general I was wondering from those of you who have fished these older Scott rods which line(s) would you recommend ? I've read that both the Rio Gold as well as the Cortland 444 Classic Peach WF cast well with these rods. Any others ? And of these two, is there one that outperforms the other, or should I just pick the color I prefer and be done with it. Also, any particular reel that you would recommend that would balance out nicely ? I don't want to break the bank on essentially something that holds line, but it is important to me that not only is this rig balanced but that it also not look hideous. I was thinking something along the lines of an older used Ross Reels Gunnison from around the same time frame, or an older Battenkill would flow nicely. I do have access to a new Galvan Brookie that I can add weight to in order to determine what I'll need, just curious what those of you who own an older G series use. Thanks in advance !!!!
Old 11-22-2013, 10:03 PM

bwf is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Scott G 885/3 reel & line recs please......

Classic Peach was made for the G, Sage's LL and their DS series, Older Powells, Winston IM6's, and all well made slower action fly rods. WF or DT both are quality lines. Rio Gold is also a good quality line...You have two fine choices here, don't stray (IMHO)