Hardy Zenith 6 wt. or TFO BVK 7 wt.?

jaycle

Reaction score
Best all around rod for delicate presentation of size#20 dries and winter steelhead fishing in OR/WA?

I know, a 5 wt and 8 wt would be ideal, but what if you had to choose only 1 rod to do it all.

biggie_robs

Reaction score
Hardy for sure.Thats like comparing a Porsche to a yugo.:worthy:
I think you're selling the BVK short with the Yugo analogy, but I would also choose the Zenith 6 over the BVK 7. My reasoning is that the Zenith series is that good, not that the BVK is bad.

Full disclosure: I have no experience chasing winter steelhead, but if it can be done well with a 7wt, then it can probably be done with a Zenith 6wt.

Last edited:

biggie_robs

Reaction score
I'm just wondering if the 6 wt. Zenith handle winter steelhead fishing?
Great question! The next question is if a BVK 7wt will lay down #20 dry flies effectively?

The answer to both questions is probably "no" but the OP wants one rod to do both, and he gives us a choice to make between the two. I think the Zenith is the least bad choice, but then I lean towards the ultra-light side of fly-fishing.

moucheur2003

Reaction score
If it were me, I would get a Zenith in a 5 weight and then try to find any decent 8 weight on closeout for $100 or so for the steelhead. Like this one, for instance:
Temple Fork Outfitters Lefty Kreh Professional Special 4-Piece Fly Rod for an 8 Weight
Or even this:
Cabela's Wind River Combo : Cabela's
Rather than having one compromise rod that won't do either delicate dry-fly work or heavy fishing terribly well, for not much more money you'll have one of the world's best all-round trout rods and a pretty decent steelhead rig.

ts47

Reaction score
Jaycle,

Your question does not have a good answer. The only answer any of us can give you that will be remotely close to good is to buy two rods. If money is an issue, buy used rods instead.