The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2008, 11:11 AM

tca1954 is on a distinguished road
Default short rods vs. long rods

Hi Everybody,

I looking at adding a 5 wt. to my small selection of rods and am considering a shorter rod in this weight class. I am familiar with the advantages and disadvantages of long vs. short, but the one question I have is in the performance catergory.

Specifically, I am interested in the TFO Finesse 5 wt. 7'9" rod. I tried one out recently and it really felt nice. I am a beginner to intermediate caster at best and to me this rod felt good because it was so light. But I am wondering besides the regular pros and cons, will this rod handle the same fly sizes as a 9' rod. Is the feel of the action any different on a 7'9" vs 9'? Is there such a thing as a better line choice for short vs. long rods?

Thanks.
Old 03-21-2008, 11:26 AM

zerolimit is on a distinguished road
Default Re: short rods vs. long rods

It's likely to be a bit stiffer and quicker than it's nine foot brother which should make it a little easier to cast heavier bugs if say you are a bass fisherman. If I were to go shorter with a 5wt., my personal preference would be an 8-6 unless you are buying it for a specific application. Longer rods also make mending easier. But in the end, if it suits you, it's the right length.
Old 03-21-2008, 02:01 PM
Super Moderator

BigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant future