The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2008, 07:28 PM

uneke is on a distinguished road
Default Which way to go?

Living in Oklahoma I only have two areas to trout fish when the heat hits. I am very new to fly fishing and was wondering if there was a rod that does well for both trout, smallmouth bass, and mabye even on the lake? I also thought it might be best to get a seperate outfit for each. I would greatly appreciate any help.
Old 03-26-2008, 08:18 PM

Davo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud of
Send a message via MSN to Davo Send a message via Skype™ to Davo
Default Re: Which way to go?

A good 5 to 6wt should work for you. If you get into big fish you'll want to higher.

Upstream Anglers and Outdoor Adventures
Old 03-26-2008, 09:54 PM
Super Moderator

BigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant future

I'd go with a 5wt, as there's lots more sunfish near you than the bigger species and a 5 makes them much more fun.

A 5 would be plenty for the LMFR too, I normally fish a 4wt down there myself.

I'd rather hunt fish than bait deer any day.
Old 03-26-2008, 11:34 PM