The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2008, 10:57 AM

hammer84 is on a distinguished road
Default Question on the TFO lefty series rods

I'm returning my BPS 270 combo this week ( 5 wt ). The reel is just a POS. If it gets any water on it the dang thing just locks up.

TFO Pro or Finesse series
I'm planning on buying a TFO rod, one of the lefty series rods. My question is what is the difference between the pro and finesse.

I'm still a newbie to flyfishing. This will be trout rig used mostly at trout parks and some stream/lake fishing.

Once again thanks for all the great info on this site !!!

BTW, I'll need a new reel but so far I have been very happy with my Lamson Kontic on my 3wt so I may just buy another one of those
Old 04-07-2008, 02:47 PM
Administrator

Frank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Skype™ to Frank Whiton
Default Re: Question on the TFO lefty series rods

Hi hammer84,

You have discovered one of the problems with buying a low cost combo outfit. The reels suck and the fly line is not always very good. If you already have a Konic reel why don't you buy a second spool and use the same reel?