The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2008, 07:45 AM

Falk65 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Falk65
G-Loomis

Ok my first post here.First a little bit about my self.
I am 42 year old and i live in Iceland and i love fishing and fly fishing is no 1 2 and 3 and i have lot of rivers and lakes here and i fish Brown Trouts Arctic Char and in summer Atlantic Salmon.

Now i hope someone here in this forum can help me because i am new to double handed rods and bought one G-Loomis Stinger GLX 14´for line # 9/10 and have a line on it which seems to be a wrong line it is RIO Outbound #10 and at RIO homepage it is sold as a shooting line for single hand rods.

Anyone here who can advise or know something about lines for spey rods or double handed rods

Best regards
Falk65
Old 07-06-2008, 09:10 AM

randyflycaster is a name known to allrandyflycaster is a name known to allrandyflycaster is a name known to allrandyflycaster is a name known to allrandyflycaster is a name known to allrandyflycaster is a name known to all
Default Re: G-Loomis

You can call Rio and speak to them directly. I guess the big question is how long of a head do you want? Longer head-lines are harder to cast, but you don't have to strip much line in. (This is an advantage when fishing on a river.) With shorter bellies you have to strip more line in - great for fishing stillwaters.

I'd certainly consider the Rio Windcutter Line or the Airflow Delta Spey. They're both shorter-head lines, designed, partly, for newer spey casters.

Skagit lines have even shorter heads and allow you to cast with limited space behind you, but you'll have to do a lot of stripping. They're probably the easiest lines to cast, but because of their fat heads some people feel they make too much noise on the water.