The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2008, 10:53 AM

david is on a distinguished road
Default What Line

This my first post here so let me first say HI to everyone in advance and thanks for all of the information on the forum. I have been lurking for a while reading and gathering all of the information i could.

I am relatively new to fly fishing. I have been spin casting for years but just recently started fly fishing. I took a couple casting classes and purchased a St Croix AVID 4wt rod and a Albright reel for it. I let the shop i bought it from set it up with line and a selection of flys. They used scientific Anglers Headstart line. I like it alot and plan on upgrading the reel later on. The other day I went to get a few supplies from the shop and ended up walking out with a new R L WInston 5wt 5 piece rod and a Bauer reel.

Now for my question. What line would you recomend and how do you pick out your line? Some friends recommended the sharkskin line, but it is a bit $$$ and would hate to mess up the line.

I am sure there will be other questions but will start with that.

Thanks in Advance

David
Old 08-25-2008, 11:33 AM

axle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud of
Default Re: What Line

That would really depend on what you want to spend. I'm rather frugal. I got my backing and line with the reel when I bought it. BUT, if I had to buy new 5wt. line, it'd probably be this:

Orvis Clearwater Flyline

Only my opinion. You're gonna hear alot of opinions. I will say this, this place is a great place to find information. All of these people are very, very helpful.
Old 08-25-2008, 12:27 PM