The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2008, 03:53 PM

Katskids is on a distinguished road
Default Comparing Fly Rods

Hi Everyone,
I'm a complete novice so bare with me please. I'm looking at buying my boyfriend a new fly rod for his birthday. I'm looking at the St. Croix Avid, Sage Launch and the Orvis Clearwater II. Does anyone have an opinion on these? I don't know whether to get the 2 or 4 pc. I'm looking at a 4-5 lb, 8-9 foot.

Any assistance would be great!!
Thanks so much in advance.
Kat
Old 09-19-2008, 06:41 PM

FrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Comparing Fly Rods

Hi Kat, It would be best to take your boyfriend to a fly shop, and have
him try the rods. A rod that may feel great for me, will be a dog for someone
else. Also, if your boyfriend is a novice, the fly shop staff will be able to
steer him in the right direction. If you don't have a local fly shop, a St. Croix Avid 9' 5wt in 4 piece should have him covered!
Old 09-20-2008, 10:13 AM

wtex50 will become famous soon enoughwtex50 will become famous soon enough