The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2008, 10:49 PM

tranquilidad is on a distinguished road
Red face Novice Seeks Guidance... Bass Rod.

I am brand new to fly fishing so I am still trying to feel my way around the equipment and terminology... If anyone could provide me with assistance it would be appreciated...

I am wanting to get a rod primarily for Largemouth Bass... Will also use for panfish and crappie.

I live in northwest tennessee... Possibly go into southern missouri and northern arkansas also...

As far as rod requirements go:...

100 - 150 dollar range, 7/8 wt., 8 1/2 - 9 ft., medium to medium fast, graphite.

Am also look reel to match:

The brands in consideration are as follows, no particular order:

Redington Titanium CDL 7/8... Lamson Guru 3... Lamson Velocity 3... Lamson Litespeed 3... Ross Rhythm 3.5... Ross CLA 4... Ross Evolution 3.5...

Any comments, concerns, non-commercial reviews and personal experiences more than welcomed... Please tell me you top three picks or rods and reels...

I am in information overload... I prefer American made and sold by manufacturing company if possible...
Old 09-23-2008, 01:01 PM

FrequentFlyer is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Novice Seeks Guidance... Bass Rod.

tranquilidad