The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2008, 09:04 PM

kobato is on a distinguished road
Question St. Croix Reign Fly Rod 6 wt or 8 wt?

Hi, i am new to fly fishing. I do trout fishing in small lakes most of the time.
I have a 7wt Rio trout selective II line with a Berkely 2pc cherry wood rod.
I want to upgrade my rod, thus, I went to Cabelas website where I found a good deal about St. Croix Reign Fly Rod 50%off. I am still a college student that my budget is low. St. Croix Reign Fly Rod do not have 7 wt rod.
My question is if my 7 wt line would fit well with the 6wt. rod or 8 wt. rod?
if yes, 6wt rod or 8 wt rod would be better?
here is the link of the discount rod if any one is interested.
thank you everyone!!!!

Cabela's -- St. Croix Reign Fly Rods
Old 11-21-2008, 10:12 PM

texasflycaster is on a distinguished road
Default Re: St. Croix Reign Fly Rod 6 wt or 8 wt?

That's a pretty complicated question, but if you need the six to load fast put the 7 line on it. I don't hear too much about going the other direction 7 line on 8 rod. It really isn't so simple. shannon
Old 11-21-2008, 11:31 PM
Administrator

mcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond repute

Kobato