The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2010, 08:51 AM

Laurel Fork is on a distinguished road
Default Sage DS2

I am curious what the evolution of the lower in price Sage line of rods DS2 - Launch-Vantage is in terms of action and feel. Did going from the Graphite II of the DS2 to the G5 technology of the Launch change the rod line substantially? I have no experience with Sage rods so I was hoping someone could shed some light on my curiosity.
Old 11-12-2010, 09:03 AM

MoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Sage DS2

I wouldn't describe the technology for the Launch or Vantage as G5. Sage describes it as G5 like.

What has happened through the three generations of rods is that the rod feels have gotten lighter and crisper. The newer graphite quality is so much better that the rod feels lighter as it is casting out line. The reality is that they may have not dropped in weight physically or may have dropped by a 1/16 of an ounce. As for crispness, the blanks can generate more line speed without having a tip bounce around a lot.

MP

Last edited by MoscaPescador; 11-12-2010 at 06:25 PM. Reason: typos
Old 11-12-2010, 01:54 PM
Super Moderator