The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2005, 03:52 PM

chuck145 will become famous soon enoughchuck145 will become famous soon enough
Post $40 rod vs $140 rod

I am new to fly fishing; but, I have fished for the last 40 years. I have assess to inexpensive equipment in my town but not to the higher "quality" equipment I read about and see on the internet. I dont mind paying more for the quality if it is something I can appreciate which brings me to my question....As a beginning fly fisherman, using a good reel and cortman 333pro fly line would I appreciate the difference in a $40 Martin 5w 9 ft rod and say a $140 Echo rod of the same specs?
Old 12-02-2005, 04:56 PM
Super Moderator

BigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant future
Default Re: $40 rod vs $140 rod

Yes. 6-10 years ago this would not have been the case, but in the last few years the quality of most of the $80-$200 rods has gone WAY up. The Martin would be the kind of rod that would get you started, but that you would grow out of fairly quickly. The ECHO is one you wouldn't grow out of.

I'd rather hunt fish than bait deer any day.
Old 12-02-2005, 07:54 PM

fshfanatic will become famous soon enough

I began with the "cheap stuff" and have graduated up what most call the "high end" stuff. I reall does make all the difference in the world. The gear is lighter and the lines shoot faster and better. If you are out for a long day of casting, you will appreciate the lighter rods, reels, etc.
Old 12-02-2005, 11:30 PM