Evalute this rod for a newbie please

hgriffin1

Reaction score
I have been offered the fly rod in the attached pictures. I am completely new to bamboo fly rods so I am asking for some help in evaluating this rod. Is it a counterfeit of a good name (i.e. has someone added the name after the fact), has it got any visible problems, what is it worth? I realize that it is difficult to evaluate properly from a few pictures but I am hoping someone can do a cursory evaluation. If it appears to be worth while, I will seek out an expert for a full evaluation. It has the following designations in black under the lacquer just above the butt: "Leonard"; 8'-7" ; 5 wt. All of these appear in the attachments. It is in a cloth bag in a metal tube with a chrome or Nichol screw cap.
There are no engravings on the butt or any of the other metal parts.

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

Cheers,
Hugh

Attachments

peregrines

Super Moderator/Fly Swap Coordinator
Reaction score
Sorry I don't know boo, but you could post here too:
The Classic Fly Rod Forum - Message Board - Yuku

The guys and gals over there could probably give you more info in terms of what to look for specifically (bends or sets, cracks/splitting, evidence of re wraps replacement etc in terms of what to look for in an old boo rod, as well as give some opinions on authentication etc to make sure its a Leonard.

Good luck, and let us know what you find out. It looks like a beauty to my eye, but I don't know nuthin' about cane.

peregrines

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
Is it offered to you for free or is it for sale?

If free I wouldn't worry too much about its origin. If for a price that's another matter.

Main points are as follows; are the shafts strait and the tips of equal length? Can you see any fractures or obvious repairs to the rod?

As for authenticity could be that the rod was refurbished by a non professional and the hardware has been replaced. The shaft re-marked as for reference.