The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2009, 06:33 PM

hgriffin1 is on a distinguished road
Default Evalute this rod for a newbie please

I have been offered the fly rod in the attached pictures. I am completely new to bamboo fly rods so I am asking for some help in evaluating this rod. Is it a counterfeit of a good name (i.e. has someone added the name after the fact), has it got any visible problems, what is it worth? I realize that it is difficult to evaluate properly from a few pictures but I am hoping someone can do a cursory evaluation. If it appears to be worth while, I will seek out an expert for a full evaluation. It has the following designations in black under the lacquer just above the butt: "Leonard"; 8'-7" ; 5 wt. All of these appear in the attachments. It is in a cloth bag in a metal tube with a chrome or Nichol screw cap.
There are no engravings on the butt or any of the other metal parts.

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

Cheers,
Hugh
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fr1.jpg (88.5 KB, 64 views)
File Type: jpg fl2.jpg (100.2 KB, 70 views)
File Type: jpg fl3.jpg (98.8 KB, 62 views)
Old 01-15-2009, 08:01 PM
Super Moderator/Fly Swap Coordinator

peregrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Evalute this rod for a newbie please

Sorry I don't know boo, but you could post here too:
The Classic Fly Rod Forum - Message Board - Yuku