The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2009, 09:03 PM

fishinfool145 is on a distinguished road
Default How do the different warrenties stack up?

Hi all

I'm new to fly fishing. I hired a guide last fall to fish the Provo in Utah and really enjoyed it. I recently purchased a new Lamson Velocity 2 reel and now I'm turning my attention to rods.

I've been an avid Bass fisherman for years (don't hold that against me!) and I have a boat full of Gloomis rods. One of the reasons that I've stuck with Loomis is the warrenty program. When I break a rod (not if) it is usually because I did something stupid. I have no doubt that I will break my fly rod at some point as well.

The Gloomis warrenty process is to go on line and order a replacement rod. Give them a credit card. They ship a new rod. You take out the new rod, put the pieces of your old rod back in, attach the preprinted label and in the end, they charge you $50. No questions asked. If you broke the rod because of a defect, it is a free replacment, but so far, I haven't had any defects...

So, from what I can tell, there are many high quality manufactures of fly rods(I haven't figured out who they all are yet). With the exception of loomis, all of these manufactures are new to me. Who has a warrenty process that stacks up to loomis? Of course I'm looking for a quality rod.

Thanks
Old 01-28-2009, 10:03 PM

MikeG will become famous soon enough
Default Re: How do the different warrenties stack up?

I personally like St. Croix's warranty.
Old 01-29-2009, 07:14 AM

RayMO is on a distinguished road

You may look at Orvis they also have a very good warrenty...
Old 01-29-2009, 07:32 AM

Cooler00 is on a distinguished road

Hi Fishinfool,