The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2009, 10:49 AM

MVFLY is on a distinguished road
Default 9wt. Rod selection

I'm looking for a 9 wt. for salt water. I have been salt water fly fishing (Cape Cod) for 5 years. Always using medium action inexpensive rods. My limit is about 70/75 feet. I have tested many more expensive fast action rods but don't seem to cast better or longer. I quess I'm quite used to the slower action rods. I just purchased a Sage VT2 10wt. Just wanted to try a more expensive rod. Any advice or recommendations for me?
Old 02-14-2009, 12:20 PM

Jacksmyname is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 9wt. Rod selection

I'm a noob, and salt isn't my interest, but take a look at redtruckflyfishing.com.
They have the Sage FLi series on closeout at very good prices.
I recently bought a 9ft. 6wt for $178; regular price was $275.
I'm thinking of grabbing a 7'6" 4wt for the same price while the gettin' is good.
I'm FAR from being knowledgable about fly fishing, but everything I read about the FLi series was positive.
HTH
Jack
Old 02-14-2009, 01:32 PM

imxer is a glorious beacon of lightimxer is a glorious beacon of lightimxer is a glorious beacon of lightimxer is a glorious beacon of lightimxer is a glorious beacon of lightimxer is a glorious beacon of light
Thumbs up Re: 9wt. Rod selection

While you are "shopping" you might cast the Loomis Xperience, a reasonably
priced light weight rod with a lot of power in 9 weight. Good luck!
Old 02-14-2009, 01:51 PM

estrother has a spectacular aura aboutestrother has a spectacular aura aboutestrother has a spectacular aura about
Default Orvis Zero Gravity 9ft 4 piece Med. Action under $400

At FlyShopCloseOuts.com, you buy the above rod for $390.