The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2009, 11:18 PM

catfish is on a distinguished road
Default new

i'm new to all this and i need some advice
i have a $100 cabelas gift card i was going to buy a redington crosswater combo as a second rod but i can't find the lenght & weight i want in the
store and i won't buy a rod without being able to cast it first
i already have a tfo series one and an orvis bbs3 in 5wt ok i still have this gift card burning a hole in my pocket and cabelas is having a in store sale
starting on the 5th ok here are my choices

cabelas rls reel $80 prestige plus line $20 or
cabelas traditional II rod and a ross flystart w/line and backing combo $100

any advice would sure help
Old 03-03-2009, 07:28 AM

Dr. Gonzo is on a distinguished road
Default Re: new

If you're new to this just stick with what you've got and learn on it. A 5wt is a good all purpose rod (unless you're talking about saltwater). Since you already have a rod you might want to spend the gift card on other stuff you need - e.g. flies, leaders, waders, wading boots etc. I can't tell from your post what you do and don't have but I've never found that I have everything I want
Old 03-03-2009, 08:10 AM

Rip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond repute

Cabela's Jack Dennis Beginner Tying Kit with DVD
Old 03-03-2009, 08:39 AM