The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Rods

Fly Rods Post any comments or questions regarding fly rods...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2009, 11:13 AM

lefty2 is on a distinguished road
Default redfly opinions

need some input, please. i am looking for a 7wt 9.6 rod for steelhead and smallmouth in ohio. being as i will only use it about six times a year, i don't want to dump a lot of money into it. someone suggested the redfly. anyone have experience with these rods. thanks.
Old 04-08-2009, 03:00 PM
ReelFlyRod is on a distinguished road
Default Re: redfly opinions

Hi Rapman,

We are a Redington Dealer and manage the Forum Fly Shop on this site. I have a lot of experience casting the Red.Fly 2 rods. Last year, I took six 6wt rods out to cast them side by side. These included my Z-Axis, a Sage VT2, Sage FLi, Redington CPS, Redington Red.Fly 2, and Ross Essence FW. This helps me compare responsiveness, action, feel and other subtleties of the different rods we carry. I came away extremely impressed with the Red.Fly 2and commented to my buddy "wow, this is one heck of a rod for the money." This is a smooth, powerful casting rod that is fairly fast, but with a nice power flex. I threw some extra casts with it that day and it was a pleasure.