The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Fly Swap (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-swap/)
-   -   material for flies? (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-swap/47191-material-flies.html)

lostsailor 09-09-2010 11:44 AM

material for flies?

Hey everyone,

I am new to fly fishing. Just picked it up since my father inlaw is taking me on a fishing trip in Idaho. I have to say, it is a blast! So of course I get hooked and am trying to build up my fly boxes.

I quickly realized that is not the cheapest thing in the world, but I am in no way ready to start tying. I am a hunter so I can get a lot of natural material from wood duck feathers to buck tails.

So my question, is there a barter market for materials? What kind of raw materials would you guys be willing to trade for a couple doxen flies, etc?

thanks,

lost

mcnerney 09-09-2010 05:57 PM

Re: material for flies?

Fly tying and accumulating materials can be fun but it also can be addictive. You might be better off picking a couple patterns, buy or trade for those materials, tie up a bunch until you get real proficient at that pattern and then move to the next pattern that would work in your area. The issue is that it seems like every new fly that comes out has been made with material you don't have so the compulsion is to rush out and get that material. As your stash gets bigger you will find ways to substitute s you don't have to have every type of material known to man. One source for cheap materials is craft stores another is EBay, but the best way like you stated earlier is hunting. Have fun learning to tie!

Larry

lostsailor 09-09-2010 07:17 PM

I am not looking to start tying, I want to barter materials for flies.

mcnerney 09-09-2010 08:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lostsailor (Post 135486)
I am not looking to start tying, I want to barter materials for flies.