The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Forum Polls

Forum Polls Find out what forum members think about various fly fishing topics.

View Poll Results: Of the flies that you fish with, do you tie them or buy them?
I don't tie 60 20.00%
I'll tie a few here and there 50 16.67%
I buy them occasionally 91 30.33%
What? Spend money on flies? 99 33.00%
Voters: 300. You may not vote on this poll

Like Tree6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2009, 01:29 AM
SCflyguy is on a distinguished road
Default Do you buy or tie?

Of the flies that you fish with, what percentage do you tie yourself? Seems like fly fishing and fly tying go hand in hand.

I've been tying for about 10 yrs and haven't bought a fly since. Just wondered 'bout everybody else.
Old 08-01-2009, 02:04 AM

rdh2059 is on a distinguished road

I've been tying my own for 40ish years now. I started out by taking some feathers from one of my mom's prize feather pillows, "borrowing" some of her thread, whittling a clothes pin into a tying vice and some old bait hooks I found snagged at a local stream. Things have changed a LOT since then, but that same fascination and satisfaction with creating something to catch fish with, is still there...

Most fly fishers I know started out by buying their first few flies, then getting frustrated with how fast their precious investments get lost in trees and snags and broken off on fish. A cheap starter fly tying kit comes next. After that, it just seems to develop a mind of its own and it grows and grows...

Best of luck to you...
Rick
Old 08-02-2009, 09:06 PM

wild trout is on a distinguished road

I tie most flies. If I go to a new area and they have a differrent fly I'll buy it to support the locals.

TB
Old 08-04-2009, 06:39 PM

Lambster has a spectacular aura aboutLambster has a spectacular aura about
Default Flies