The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Forum Polls

Forum Polls Find out what forum members think about various fly fishing topics.

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By jaybo41
  • 1 Post By Curtis

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2015, 10:04 AM

fisherman209 is on a distinguished road
Default Sage Approach or Sage Response

Hello,

I am just getting into fly fishing and I was interested in getting an entry level Sage 5wt Fly Rod. I am interested in hearing if any of you have used either of these rods and which one you prefer?

Thanks!
Old 08-04-2015, 10:31 AM

zug buggin is a splendid one to beholdzug buggin is a splendid one to beholdzug buggin is a splendid one to beholdzug buggin is a splendid one to beholdzug buggin is a splendid one to beholdzug buggin is a splendid one to beholdzug buggin is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Sage Approach or Sage Response

The rods are different actions, the Approach is a medium fast the Response is a fast action. The feel of these rods will be very different, this can get very involved as to which action is preferred but its like women we all like something different. The medium fast Approach will be somewhat more forgiving of mistimed casts therefore easier for someone starting out.
The fisherman now is one who defies society, who rips lips, who drains the pool, who takes no prisoners, who is not to be confused with the sissy with the creel and bamboo rod. Granted, he releases what he catches, but in some cases, he strips the quarry of its perilous soul before tossing it back in the water. What was once a trout – cold, hard, spotted and beautiful – becomes “number seven.”
Tom McGuane
Old 08-04-2015, 11:37 AM

troutnut4 is a name known to alltroutnut4 is a name known to alltroutnut4 is a name known to alltroutnut4 is a name known to alltroutnut4 is a name known to alltroutnut4 is a name known to all