The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Gear Reviews

Gear Reviews Get the reviews you need. Hear it from the pros. Post your own reviews...

Comment

LinkBack Review Tools Display Modes
Cabela's 3 Forks 3wt/Prestige Plus Combo
Cabela's 3 Forks 3wt/Prestige Plus Combo
Good Deal for the Price
Published by whalensdad
08-28-2011
Author review
Performance
70%70%70%
Build Quality
70%70%70%
Appearance
80%80%80%
Value
100%100%100%
Overall
80%80%80%
Average 80%
Default Cabela's 3 Forks 3wt/Prestige Plus Combo

Let me start off by saying that I'm not an expert when it comes to fly rods and reels. I've never owned an expensive rod/reel and consider myself a budget consumer. I try to purchase the best quality I can within my budget and let the others argue about name brands.

This review is for the Cabela's 3 Forks 3wt/Prestige Plus combo. Currently on sale for $59. It is a 7'6" 3 piece rod. I ordered the rod on a Saturday using normal shipping and it arrived on Wednesday.

Unboxing/First Impression:
The rod came packaged in a long cardboard box. It was secured with plastic inflatable packing material. It did not come with a case, but was in a rod sock. I hesitate to really call it a sock, since it was made of a nylon material, but it will hold the 3 pieces of the rod individually and serve its purpose. The cork handle was covered in plastic, which I was surprised to see. Overall the rod was packed well enough to prevent damage.

The Prestige Plus reel was in its own box at the bottom of the bos the rod came in. I was expecting a flimsy reel and was plesantly surprised that this was not the case. The reel did not seem flimsy at all. In fact it felt better then then the Ross Flystart 2 I have on my 5Wt rod.