The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Gear Reviews

Gear Reviews Get the reviews you need. Hear it from the pros. Post your own reviews...

Like Tree11Likes
  • 10 Post By shaunsquid
  • 1 Post By weiliwen

LinkBack Review Tools Display Modes
Cutthroat Leaders
Cutthroat Leaders
Published by shaunsquid
Author review
Build Quality
Average 100%
Default Cutthroat Leaders

It has taken me a while to post about this, but here it is.

At the beginning of summer I bought a few leaders from Cutthroat. I used them all summer and could not be happier with them. First of all, the customer service was incredible. I mistakenly ordered leaders without tippet rings, emailed the company, and they threw in a little bit of everything free of charge so I can could see what I like.

I love the tippet rings and I love furled leaders. I am fairly new at fly fishing so I am still working on my knot tying. The tippet ring really helps me get back on the water quickly. The leaders float well when greased with the Otter Butter. I was wet wading up in Oregon at the end of July and was presenting small drys to rainbows. They rolled out perfectly and I ended up hooking into a half dozen in about 2 hours.

Cutthroat's leaders have been backpacking with me and I cannot tell you how nice they have been for long treks. I don't have to worry about bringing a bunch of tapered leaders (remember those knot skills?). One dry leader, one nymph and I am good to go.

I think Cutthroat has made a lifelong customer out of this newbie.
Featured Reviews
Read more
Cortland Trout BOSS Fly Line

Cortland's New Premium Trout Fly Line
By ejsell on 09-23-2015, 01:14 PM
Default Re: Cutthroat Leaders

Just ordered my first last night. Can't wait to try it out.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
By weiliwen on 09-23-2015, 02:08 PM