The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2011, 11:17 AM

famill00 will become famous soon enough
Default What should I have in my box?

Hello all, I live in the western suburbs of Chicago. I will go ahead and apologize for living here; the gun laws suck and the politicians are, well, this IS where the current president came from.

Anyways, due to a crazy work schedule, I will most likely most avidly fish the Fox River here this year for walleye, smallies, bream, etc. I am new to this whole game, but have tied up some buggers and clouser minnows so far. I was wondering what else, aside from some poppers for bream, that I should buy materials for and make? Do you all make your own poppers or do you just buy them? They seem difficult to paint to me...

I also plan on going up to southwest Wisconsin for a couple or more trips to try and catch some trout. What should I have in my box for that area?

I have a 9' St. Croix Reign 5 wt with a Lamson Konic reel loaded with Scientific Anglers GPX floating wf 5wt line, so I may be limited to throwing some of the bigger stuff?

Also, I have noticed that dry fly hackle can get quite pricey, especially around where I live. Is there an online source that you guys use that has reasonable prices?

Thanks for all your help!
-Forrest
Old 02-05-2011, 12:15 PM

tbiii will become famous soon enoughtbiii will become famous soon enough
Default Re: What should I have in my box?

As far as topwater, I'd look into Gartside's Gurgler. It's a pretty easy pattern, and a lot less time consuming than many conventional popper patterns. You can also buy preformed foam popper heads at many fly shops, which cuts down on the time issue quite a bit.
Old 02-05-2011, 02:52 PM
Banned