The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2011, 03:48 PM

fearnofishbob will become famous soon enoughfearnofishbob will become famous soon enough
Default Furled Leaders I'd like your thoughts

I have been using furled leaders off and on for several years and I'd love to hear some input from some of you on whether you like them, if yes,do you have a preference of brands, unithread vs. mono vs. fluro ?? Do you like them with the small metal ring ?

Would love to hear from you guys & gals...Thanks...........
Old 02-10-2011, 04:04 PM

wabi is just really nicewabi is just really nicewabi is just really nicewabi is just really nicewabi is just really nice
Default Re: Furled Leaders I'd like your thoughts

I fish warmwater for bass and panfish and find furled leaders work great for my fishing. I've been making my own (twisted leaders) for a year or so now and like the fact I can easily adjust construction (size line and ratio of butt, midsection, and tippet proportions) to fit about any situation.

Never tried a leader with a tippet ring, simply because I like a simple handshake loop connection for the tippet. Bad enough getting strikes on the perfection loop knot without adding a shiny ring to attract more attention to the connection.

I use mono line for dry flies and flouro for wets & nymphs.
Old 02-10-2011, 04:49 PM

raindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud of

Hey Bob,