The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-2009, 09:49 PM

Hockeyref is on a distinguished road
Default First ever catch with Fly Rod

Caught my first ever fish with fly tackle.... I'm just getting into it and we were at Keystone State park for a family cook out. I took my spinning stuff as well as the "cheapie beater rod" that I put together until I can get the "good one" built (St Croix Reign, still deciding on the reel). Rod was an Eagle Claw (Black Eagle) 8'6" 6-7wt. Pfleuger 1494 from Ebay, Cortland Fair Play WF6F Floating Rocket. Used a Cortland #9 "Dave's Hoper"....

I was just whipping the line around getting a feel for loading the rod and watching the line... etc. My brother said I should just stick with golf and why don't I tie something on and get the line wet... My wife giggled and threw her own jab.. "you think you can actually catch something witht hat thing?" So I look what I have with me, tie onthe hopper and go splash it down. about the 4th cast this sucker came up from below and jumed out of the water as it took it!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg July_2009_Keystone.JPG (17.7 KB, 80 views)
Old 07-04-2009, 10:05 PM

crittergetter is just really nicecrittergetter is just really nicecrittergetter is just really nicecrittergetter is just really nice
Default Re: First ever catch with Fly Rod

Congrats!!!!

That is how the addiction starts.. That one fish that exploded the water and pooffffff.. you are an addict... Next it will be that big fish that takes off down to your backing turns around and spits the fly back to you before you can coordinate arms line and reels..

Good luck and welcome
Old 07-04-2009, 10:14 PM

troutslayer has a spectacular aura abouttroutslayer has a spectacular aura about