The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2009, 08:20 AM

jayodonn is on a distinguished road
Default My floating line sinks

Hi All. I'm new to the sport and have a WF floating line. Originally purchased to play around with panfish, I now use it to chase trout (got 2 browns and a rainbow last night during the Hex hatch). I've mostly fished dry flies but want to try some nymphs. I've seen/read that you watch the tip of your fly line for pauses to indicate a fish has taken the fly. Well, the first 12-18 inches of my fly line sinks. Is that normal? Is it the braided loop connector that I've got on there? Should I cut that off and tie a perfection loop instead? Any info would be appreciated.
Old 07-23-2009, 08:32 AM

axle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud of
Default Re: My floating line sinks

Sounds as if you need to seal the flyline where your leader is tied. Frank will show up soon and tell you to use Pliobond (sp?) to seal the knot and end of the flyline. He would not be wrong.

What happens is that, over time, your flyline will get water within it's core and sink. IMO, I would not use superglue or anything like that as it is not flexible.
Old 07-23-2009, 11:47 AM

Fly2Fish is a splendid one to beholdFly2Fish is a splendid one to beholdFly2Fish is a splendid one to beholdFly2Fish is a splendid one to beholdFly2Fish is a splendid one to beholdFly2Fish is a splendid one to beholdFly2Fish is a splendid one to beholdFly2Fish is a splendid one to behold

Quote:
Originally Posted by axle27 View Post