The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2011, 06:06 PM

rjw is on a distinguished road
Default New to this hole fly fishing thing

So I have officially decided to take up fly fishing and need a little advice. I have some fishing background but zero fly fishing knowledge but I have decided to take a 7 week fly fishing course at college and now need to decide where to go with my money. I will be fishing trout mostly in rivers here in Utah (provo, weber, some higher elevation streams) and am wondering what fly rod/reel/line would be the best option for me. Since I am a beginner I am obviously not looking for a $700 dollar rod, but I would like to get a good rod that will fit my needs for quite some time, as both my father and I are picking fly fishing up as something to do together. Right now I was looking at an 8'6" St Croix Avid, would this be a good option or do you guys have a better idea? I also have no idea where to start with what reel/line to go with so any advice here would be appreciated!
Old 02-23-2011, 06:31 PM

mojo has a brilliant futuremojo has a brilliant futuremojo has a brilliant futuremojo has a brilliant futuremojo has a brilliant futuremojo has a brilliant futuremojo has a brilliant futuremojo has a brilliant futuremojo has a brilliant futuremojo has a brilliant futuremojo has a brilliant future
Default Re: New to this hole fly fishing thing

Where do you live? If the Provo area, go to Eddie Robinson's and talk to them. If the SLC area, Fish Tech or Western Rivers. The Uinta's (upper Provo) I use a 3 & 4w. Middle P- 4w, lower P 4w or 5w. Weber- 4w & 5w.
The lakes and reservoirs- Utah and Idaho, 5w & 6w. Uinta lakes, 3 or 4w.
Carp and tiger muskie, 8w.
Green River- 5 w or 6w.